Where’s my Town?

Well this week I was browsing around and looking for something to write about and I ended up on Wikipedia. As part of our project here, we’re running training sessions in Wikipedia in order to get as much local content on the website as possible.

Why Wikipedia?

Wikipedia is one of the top 10 most visited websites in the world and is also the most consulted encyclopaedia in the world (even more than the print based encyclopaedia).

Ok so where to start? There’s a lot of information on the site so it can be a bit daunting trying to find a place to start………. Or so I thought.

As a place to start I went to the Oakey page to see what was written there. It was when I got to the bottom of the page that I found a whole range of topics available for us to write about as part of the Country Roads Project.

It was down the bottom I found a list of suburbs and towns in the Toowoomba Region. After having a gander at the list, saying to myself, been there, been there, don’t know there, it dawned on me that there is a lot of red names on the list.

WikiTowns

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Wikipedia, all those red names you can see are places that DON’T have an information page written about them.

My challenge to you all is to help us fill in the blanks. There’s a lot of red listed here but if everyone does their own local area then it won’t be long until we will have one of the most comprehensive range of pages in Queensland.

If you look in the resources section of the blog you will find a Wiki Place Template. So all you will need to do is fill in the blanks and copy and paste it into Wiki. Then you can start beefing up the article with more local information.

Go on, get writing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

