I’ve been working on the railroad………..history

I haven’t really, it’s just that last week the Oakey Lions had their first market day down near the railway station to help raise money to beautify the area and I thought I’d see what I could dig up.

Before we get to the old pictures I thought I’d share a couple of events that I read about.

It was June 1953, when a wagon containing 75 bales of wheat bags (£6000 worth) caught fire. All was lost or damaged but the part I thought was interesting was that the heat from the blaze was so hot that the steel sides of the wagon were buckled.

And although not a great rail disaster, in 1924 the midday train from Chinchilla was on approach to the platform when part of the brake on one of the trucks disconnected just before the train reached the bridge. Initially only one truck was derailed but after reaching the other side of the bridge a further five trucks derailed. No cause (or loss of life) was mentioned.

Okay, here are some old pics I dug up that I thought would make a good “before” comparison of the area. In a year or so (assuming I remember) I’ll go down and take some more pics to get a comparison.

Railway station at Oakey c1930

Image: Wheat trucks headed to station before the silos were built Source: Oakey Local Studies Collection

Image: Wheat trucks headed to station before the silos were built
Source: Oakey Local Studies Collection

Image: Oakey Station Source: Oakey Local Studies Collection

Image: Oakey Station
Source: Oakey Local Studies Collection

Image: View from walk bridge Source: Jamie Treble

Image: View from walk bridge
Source: Jamie Treble


If you’ve got any topic you would like to request a bite size history of, let me know and I’ll see what I can dig up.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

